PP Power Rankings – Summer 2015 Week 07

You know, it’s great when we don’t agree on shows, and it’s great when the top five is extremely volatile week after week. But I get the feeling I’m being trolled by one specific show this season:

  1. Gakkou Gurashi!
  2. Monster Musume no Iru Nichijou
  3. Non Non Biyori Repeat
  4. Gatchaman Crowds insight
  5. Baby Steps 2

Well, I’m glad Non Non Biyori got back into the top five, and I’m surprised Baby Steps 2 managed to squeak in. I don’t think Gakkou Gurashi! has the strongest grip on #1, which, if you think about it, is quite concerning…

Any way you look at it, this is turning into a rather mediocre season, no show has been able to garner significant support, and it looks like the “best” show may struggle to stay above a normalized score of 2.5/5, a far cry from the >4 scores seen in the previous seasons.

Here’s the complete results for this week:

RANK

SHOW

5 PT RATING

CHANGE

% VOTES

1

Gakkou Gurashi!

2.72 (+0.03)

(=)

> 75

2

Monster Musume no Iru Nichijou

1.74 (+0.27)

(+2)

50

3

Non Non Biyori Repeat

1.61 (+0.4)

(+3)

50

4

Gatchaman Crowds insight

1.18 (-0.18)

(+1)

< 25

5

Baby Steps 2

1.16 (+0.09)

(+2)

< 25

6

Classroom☆Crisis

1.1 (-0.61)

(-4)

< 25

7

Ore Monogatari!!

0.78 (-0.28)

(=)

< 25

8

Charlotte

0.75 (-0.76)

(-5)

0

9

THE iDOLM@STER: Cinderella Girls 2nd Season

0.71 (+0.55)

(+7)

< 25

10

Sore ga Seiyuu!

0.65 (+0.61)

(+9)

< 25

11

Gate: Jieitai Kanochi nite, Kaku Tatakaeri

0.52 (-0.02)

(-2)

< 25

12

Teekyuu 5

0.3 (-0.05)

(+1)

< 25

13

Rokka no Yuusha

0.24 (-0.24)

(-3)

0

14

Himouto! Umaru-chan

0.2 (-0.2)

(-3)

0

=

Akagami no Shirayuki-hime

0.2 (-0.2)

(-3)

0

16

Kangoku Gakuen Prison School

0.1 (-0.1)

(-2)

0

17

Joukamachi no Dandelion

0.08 (-0.09)

(-2)

0

18

Shimoneta to Iu Gainen ga Sonzai Shinai Taikutsu na Sekai

0.05 (-0.05)

(-1)

0

19

Working!!!

0.03 (-0.03)

(-1)

0

20

Senki Zesshou Symphogear GX

0.02 (-0.02)

(-1)

0

21

Wakaba*Girl

0 (0)

(=)

0

This entry was posted in Pedantic Perspective Power Rankings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to PP Power Rankings – Summer 2015 Week 07

  1. bibotot says:

    Monster Musume? But that is like the worse ecchi of the season, in my opinion. Higher than Prison School and Shimoneta?

    • I think I’m being trolled after my not-so-subtle opinion of disliking the fact that it’s in the top five… I BLAME EVERYONE

      • bibotot says:

        Also, why do you think this is a mediocre season? Last season, My Love Story is constantly number 2. Now, it is not even in top 5. I also like Summer better due to larger number of shows I am following and the fact 1st spot changes hand more than just Sound dominating throughout.

      • That’s a fair way to look at it, and I agree it makes the rankings more interesting when they keep changing week after week. However, I personally feel this is happening only because the best this season has to offer are all “okay” shows. If Hibike Euphonium or Shirobako aired this season, they’d still have stomped all over the ratings. Ore Monogatari is struggling more because it’s just meandering along and hence is pretty much equal to all the other shows this season.

        Now don’t get me wrong, you could optimistically say that something like Gakkou Gurashi might pull out something amazing for this season, but as it stands right now, I don’t see it yet. I would struggle to pick a show (other than Baby Steps 2 – but that’s only because I’m a sports anime nut, and the show is great) this season as my favorite. Non Non Biyori Repeat is kind of getting there, with what I consider a much better second season to an already good first one; but other than that, I personally draw a blank.

        Of course, this is just my opinion in the end, but even the distribution of points by the other bloggers here (we are allowed to distribute 15 points each week with a cap at 5 points to a show) appears to support the fact that there’s nothing great this season. Shirobako and Euphonium got consistent 5s from everyone. If this season had a show that was that good (even if all of us didn’t like it), I’d see a lot more 5s in the ballots. Instead I see most people distributing their points using 2s and 3s.

Leave a comment