Twelve Days of Anime #3: Winning for Setsuna, Losing for Hoshino

It’s time for the obligatory sports post.

okay maybe white album the best

And the obligatory White Album 2 Screenshot

 

This year for the first time I had the opportunity to participate in the aniblogger fantasy football league. Fantasy football and anime is an odd fusion of hobbies but myself and eleven other intrepid sports/anime fans came together to test our skills in selecting players from the gridiron to face off on teams named after cartoons about cute girls:

standings

I, of course, chose to name my team after my favorite anime of 2013: White Album 2. I had named my fantasy playoff challenge team “Roddy White Album” last year but that team, like White Album, sucked. Fortunately, Roddy White Album 2 followed in its namesake’s footsteps by turning out to be far superior to its predecessor. After a slow 2-3 start, my team took the league by storm winning the next four games all by extremely comfortable margins.

It was at this point that I encountered my nemesis: Nazarielle, manager of “Riverboat Ron-kyu-bu.” Naz has a habit of picking the very worst ships and in particular he somehow preferred Mao to Hoshino in Kimikiss. In order to prove how wrong he was I renamed my team to “Win it for Hoshino” the week I played him and… I lost, just like Hoshino. The following week I played with the name “I Failed you Hoshino” and once again lost.

Down to 5-5 at that point and in danger of missing the playoffs I decided it was time to go back to a true best girl and changed my name back to Roddy White Album 2 accompanied with that one screenshot (you know the one). I won the next two games handily but dropped the finale leaving me with the most points scored in the league by far and seven “biggest blowout” awards but only a 7-6 record and the #6 seed in the playoffs.

This left me with a difficult road to the championship. I had to defeat the #3 seed and #2 scoring team in round one, then the #2 seed and #3 scoring team in round two and finally the top seed and #4 scoring team in the finals. Fortunately Setsuna was up to the challenge and I managed to win out and take home the championship:

playoffs

So the moral of the story is: name your team after a better anime and you might actually win next year.

This entry was posted in Twelve Days of Anime and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Twelve Days of Anime #3: Winning for Setsuna, Losing for Hoshino

  1. Dene323 says:

    Thinly veiled excuses to post that one screenshot indeed… It’s the season of White Album and I miss Setsuna already.

  2. Demonstrable says:

    “name your team after a better anime and you might actually win next year”

    That’s just science.

Leave a Reply

