Kelloggs’ Chronicles of Quality Cartoons: Introduction

A labor of love and questionable alliteration.

okay maybe white album the best

With Summer upon us and my other obligations winding down, I have decided it’s time for me to embark on a new project: Kelloggs’ Chronicles of Quality Cartoons. A title that is alliterative despite different particles starting each word; which is a trick of the English language that would never be allowed if we ran this blog in glorious Nipponese. What is this project (other than an excuse for cheap language jokes) you might ask? Over the coming months I will be re-watching some of my favorite anime and bringing you a series of posts reviewing and commenting on each of them. I’ll be starting with my current twenty favorite series (in order starting from number twenty) and I plan to add to this series as I encounter more shows worth including.

Of course some people may wonder why I’m doing this. A large part of it is that these are all shows that I really love but I don’t really have a chance to talk about why I love them on here. Anime from 5-10 years ago aren’t exactly news at this point so it’s hard to find an excuse to write a full post on any of them. (Although I’ve definitely found many thinly veiled excuses to talk about a certain show) I could always just put a top X list up like a lot of other blogs do but there are two problems with this.

First, I don’t think that I could do these shows justice in such an abbreviated format. A paragraph or two about a show isn’t typically sufficient to capture why I love these shows so much. But beyond that, I haven’t seen a lot of the shows I’d rank among my favorites in a long time and I’m not sure that I can do a proper explanation of why I like them without seeing them again.

This second issue leads into another reason I’m doing this. Obviously I like putting things into ranked lists; you need only look at the power rankings posts that pervade this blog to see that. But I also think there’s significant value in re-examining your past thoughts and opinions to determine if they’re still valid. It’s been a long time since I watched a lot of these shows and I’ve watched a lot of anime and read a lot of writing about anime in the intervening time. It’s possible that in retrospect some of these anime won’t seem as excellent as they did the first time. I like to think my opinions were well informed enough at the time that they will still hold now but it’s certainly worth going back and reevaluating this. If it does turn out that some of these shows don’t hold up I’ll say as much.

The final reason for doing this is that it’s just more fun to talk about things I like. Sure it’s nice to pick apart something like Mahouka or Golden Time for all of their obvious flaws but I think it’s more enjoyable and certainly more constructive to talk about shows that are actually worth watching. So in the interests of some more positivity on here, writing about series I already know I like seemed like a good idea. I’ll link each new post here once it goes up to make them easy to find for future reference:

20. Hanasaku Iroha

19. Toradora

18. Girls und Panzer

17. Usagi Drop

16. Tari Tari

15. Tamayura

14. Eve no JIkan

13. Hyouka

12. Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood

11. Moshidora

10. Ano Natsu de Matteru

9. Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica

8. ef a Tale of Memories/Melodies

7. Honey & Clover

6. True Tears

5. K-ON!

4. Coming Soon

3. Coming Soon

2. Coming Soon

1. Coming Soon

This entry was posted in Kelloggs Chronicles of Quality Cartoons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kelloggs’ Chronicles of Quality Cartoons: Introduction

  1. John Samuel says:

    Oh this should be good. I’m looking forward to this.

Leave a Reply

