Selector Infected WIXOSS in Screenshots, Episode 6

I AM IN DESPAIR! CARD GAMES THAT DESTROY LITTLE GIRLS’ WISHES HAS LEFT ME IN DESPAIR!

02:42

Does your house have to be entirely green themed too?

Does your house have to be entirely green themed too?

03:13

TAMA CAN INTO BATTLE.

TAMA CAN INTO BATTLE.

04:32

Her annoying voice aside, I quite want a figurine of Tama in that outfit.

Her annoying voice aside, I quite want a figurine of Tama in that outfit.

04:48

I’ve just about had enough of your inability to speak proper bloody English. It is now taking every fibre of my self-control not to smash my screen with an Oxford Dictionary.

I’ve just about had enough of your inability to speak proper bloody English. It is now taking every fibre of my self-control not to smash my screen with an Oxford Dictionary.

05:28

Thank god I have two screens.

Thank god I have two screens.

05:46

Are you sure about that? Have you heard of Giant Camel Spiders?

Are you sure about that? Have you heard of Giant Camel Spiders?

On an unrelated note, why would ever compare a Camel Spider to a Marlboro packet?

06:25

And so was everybody else watching.

And so was everybody else watching.

09:39

What’s wrong with your eyes? Did you accidentally wander into Plastic Nee-san?

What’s wrong with your eyes? Did you accidentally wander into Plastic Nee-san?

11:10

Selector Infected WIXOSS episode 06, 09

So you mean it’s just like cocaine?

So you mean it’s just like cocaine?

11:24

I am now mentally replacing every mention of battle in this show with cocaine. Explains so much.

I am now mentally replacing every mention of battle in this show with cocaine. Explains so much.

13:44

I kinda like your Hindenburg version of the WIXOSS rules better.

I kinda like your Hindenburg version of the WIXOSS rules better.

14:01

Would explain why her ideal self has a gigantic cranium on her head. But wouldn’t that make her thick skulled?

Would explain why her ideal self has a gigantic cranium on her head. But wouldn’t that make her thick skulled?

14:14

Is it just because I’m sexually frustrated, or can every line in this show be construed as something erotic?

Is it just because I’m sexually frustrated, or can every line in this show be construed as something erotic?

16:26

Well…Have you seen Oreimo season 2?

Well…Have you seen Oreimo season 2?

It is futile to try to show it in screenshots, but I really liked Yuzuki’s voice acting in the above scene. She sounded truly despairing.

20:41

Selector Infected WIXOSS episode 06, 16

It’s not like we’re trying to win a Pulitzer with your diary or anything, but have you considered diversifying your vocabulary?

It’s not like we’re trying to win a Pulitzer with your diary or anything, but have you considered diversifying your vocabulary?

Week 6 Verdict:

This is the part of the show where they do what Mari Okada and the director Sato Takuya does best: weaving a web of despair around each character so it seems impossible for them to attain happiness. He did it well with Okabe in Steins;Gate, and he’s great with it in WIXOSS too. This episode definitely makes up for some of the weaker ones before, where they stumbled over card battles and pretending to be happy. I am now eager to see how they would continue with this.

This entry was posted in Episodic Commentary, Selector Infected WIXOSS, Spring 2014 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Selector Infected WIXOSS in Screenshots, Episode 6

  1. Hue says:

    I can’t wait for your commentary on episode 7. So much gayness. Their gayness is showing. I now equate Selector identifying into gaydar. And battle into smut. Yeah. Iona is definitely gay. So is Ru and everyone else.

Leave a Reply

