SerendipitouslySane’s Sententious Scrutiny of the Season Supra, Part III

9.      Strike the Blood

This is one hidden gem of the season that few had a chance to behold, full of stark social commentary and criticism for our imperfect society, from the persecution of homosexuality, the inability of our inadequate health care system to address certain sanguine diseases, the carelessness with which we handle cybersecurity, and the nuanced and painful relationships between lovers of different social classes.

Yeah, I didn’t think you’d believe that either.

Pictured: Deep metaphorical meanings.

Pictured: Deep metaphorical meanings.

Strike the Blood is a simple battle harem that religiously follows the formula as laid down by Index: gloomy high school boy main character who secretly possesses very powerful magic mysteriously attracts a host of beautiful girls who are incredibly skilled in fighting yet somehow incapable of defeating an enemy without MC’s impeccably timed assistance. There really is very little subtlety or surprise in what you’re getting with this series.

Oh, as is usual with all shows of this nature, the universe seems to be entirely devoid of lockable rooms to undress in.

Still not as shameless as Kill la Kill though.

Still not as shameless as Kill la Kill though.

Expected Rating: 4/10

10.      Outbreak Company

I hate this show.

You see, Outbreak Company is the kind of parody show, of a certain level of quality that takes all the fun out of anime blogging for me. Shall I make self-deprecating jokes about otakus and geeks? Oh wait, that’s what the main character is fulfilling; shall I pretend to have a semblance of knowledge in the sciences and overanalyse the physics and engineering within the series? Well, the ridiculous scenes are there, but they are well exaggerated already; shall I draw attention to the creepiness of loli and maid fetishism in real life? Nope, they got there first; shall I ridicule or praise its production values or there lack of? Well, it’s not particular stellar animation, but not that bad either; shall I make fun of the previous shows the team has worked on? NO THEY WON’T EVEN LET ME HAVE THAT.

DEY TERK OUR JERBS!

DEY TERK OUR JERBS!

So yeah, go watch this show instead of reading this incompetent critic’s inept attempts at humour. They even have boob jiggles which I am frankly incapable of doing.

Attractively, that is.

Still not as shameless as Kill la Kill though.

Still not as shameless as Kill la Kill though.

Expected Rating: 6/10

11.      Golden Time

Fortunately, this series involves no scatological fetishes, despite its name.

Unfortunately, it involves college romances which I am definitively excluded from in this subpar reality.

But I’m not bitter. At all.

But I’m not bitter. At all.

Moreover, it involves a bitchy and clingy girl whose antics were amusing at first, but by episode six I was begging some character, in the middle of some scene, to just suddenly turn to the camera and go, “alright folks, this is all very interesting and all. I mean, all of us are interestingly written characters, we’re pretty well-animated, and the pacing is fine, but before we move any further with this mire of human relationship, there is something that needs addressing,” then promptly turn around to Kaga Kouko and twat her in the face as hard as humanly possible, before continuing with the conversation as if nothing is amiss.

We all know a friend who is this much of an arsehole. If you don’t, well… (Yes, yes, I know I’m said friend.)

We all know a friend who is this much of an arsehole. If you don’t, well… (Yes, yes, I know I’m said friend.)

Expected Rating: 6 – 7/10

12.      Coppelion

I think I’ll give this show a blue out of ten.

No, I said I wanted a Sapphic show, not a sapphire one.

No, I said I wanted a Sapphic show, not a sapphire one.

To be honest though, their choice of colour palette is the least of this show’s problems. The PV I previewed it with promised girls in school uniforms with guns blazing in city ruins, which are three of my favourite things. What I got instead was rapidly drained animation budget, a lot of human drama, annoying characters and excessive crying.

Could be worse; they could be happy.

Could be worse; they could be happy.

The three main girls run the gamut from useless coward, to completely unnoticeable, to a rigid lawful good chronic hero who has more heart than sense. Every other character they encounter, their school principal who was rendered powerless by his superiors, the people they save who worked at the nuclear power plant and was unable to stop the nuclear disaster due to a critical mass of administratium, and the villains who fell into despair because of how hopeless their future is, seem to serve no other purpose other than to hammer home the author’s tired message that there is a problem with Japan’s rigid caste-like corporatism and society. I don’t mind a little bit of depth and social commentary to my mindless anime watching, but please, put some thought into it instead of ranting incessantly about your misgivings. (Once again, the mirror of self-reflection is in full view.)

Expected Rating: 3/10

This entry was posted in Commentary, Coppelion, Fall 2013, Golden Time, Outbreak Company, Reviews, Season Review, Strike the Blood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SerendipitouslySane’s Sententious Scrutiny of the Season Supra, Part III

  1. 123 says:

    critical mass of administratium

    I like this 🙂

Leave a Reply

