Kelloggs’ Anime Power Rankings: Fall 2013 Week 1

As you may or may not be aware: Serendipitous, PumpkinMochi and myself participate in Anime Power Rankings over at Desu ex Machina. I’ve decided to start posting my full rankings and comments over here as well because we need more content I’d like to give you guys some thoughts on everything I’m currently watching each week. So without further ado, I give you my initial fall 2013 power rankings.

1.     Nagi no Asukara

I was all in on NagiAsu going into the fall season and as I said in my full write-up it did not disappoint. Okada Mari and P.A. Works have put together a beautiful and immersive world and I am eagerly looking forward to seeing where they go with it.

2.     White Album 2

There wasn’t a ton of talk about this show before the season started but I was personally very interested as a fan of VN adaptations given the high regard the source material is held in. The main question in my mind is whether Satelight was going to put a strong effort towards adapting this. After one episode it looks like this is an adaptation that will be taken seriously unlike some recent VN adaptations *cough* Litle Busters *cough*. It’s been a long time since we saw a legitimate romance/drama offering so I’m very excited to see where this goes.

This shot was absolutely gorgeous

This shot was absolutely gorgeous

3.     Kyoukai no Kanata

The first episode of Kyoukai no Kanata delivered what I consider to be a perfect combination of cuteness (lots), foreshadowing/plot set up (some) and action (almost none). This is pure KyoAni and that’s what I like to see.

4.     Golden Time

In contrast to White Album 2, Golden Time offers up a solid mix of romance and comedy. The source material isn’t as highly regarded but you can’t deny the pedigree of the author. The Law School setting is relatively fresh and through one episode the cast is likeable enough. I can’t say I’m super excited about this but I’m hopeful that if nothing else we’ll get a nice spiritual successor to Toradora.

5.     Little Busters Refrain

Ah, Little Busters. It’s back again and really not much has changed. Fortunately this means they’ve picked up from where they left off by the end of last season when Little Busters the anime had finally started to feel like Little Busters the visual novel. The pancake party felt sloppy and awkward at times much like a lot of the first season but Kurugaya’s badassery in the second half managed to carry the day and elevate this to number five.

Don’t mess with Kurugaya

Don’t mess with Kurugaya

6.     IS: Infinite Stratos 2

IS wasted little time reminding us that it’s a harem show through and through complete with boneheaded MC, violent harem members with jealous streaks a mile wide and plenty of fanservice. It also wasted no time in reminding us that as far as harem shows go, IS is actually quite charming. The copious amounts of France x Germany teasing didn’t hurt either.

7.     Coppelion

There’s nothing particularly wrong with Coppelion despite the fairly mundane first episode. On the other hand, there’s nothing particularly right with it either. The setting is interesting enough but not my cup of tea so I’ll likely be passing on this one.

8.     Outbreak Company

Look, Outbreak Company creators, just because you acknowledge the fact that your premise and characters are both generic and dumb as hell doesn’t give you a free pass to not even try to do anything interesting or unique. I mean, it could be worse I guess but I see little hope for this LN offering.

Oh wow! Crappy LN adaptations!

Oh wow! Crappy LN adaptations!

9.     Strike the Blood

Honestly, this one was so dumb and boring I barely remember what happened. I do recall that the vampire character drank his own blood to temporarily sate his desire for nubile young women which appears to be the vampire equivalent of fapping. So I guess if nothing else Strike the Blood tells us what vampires do with their alone time?

10.Yuushibu

“Hataraku Maou-sama was pretty good but I feel like it needed fewer interesting characters and more boob shaking and panty shots.”
-Nobody

Also, the demon lord’s daughter has mammary cloaking technology that would make Charlotte from Infinite Stratos jealous.

Seriously, how do you hide that?

Seriously, how do you hide that?

11.Diabolik Lovers

Speaking of unwanted touching……

12.KILL la KILL

I knew going in I wasn’t going to like this. I knew that everybody else (aside from Serendipitous) was going to like it. I underestimated exactly how much I was going to hate it. I doubted there could be a highly regarded anime I liked even less than FLCL but the guys over at Trigger have outdone even themselves. KLK is an ugly, jumbled mess of anger and hate in which the only modes the voice actors have are yell and snarl. It is a terribly unpleasant experience watching it compounded by the fact that it will inexplicably be very highly regarded in the west. I quit.

This entry was posted in Fall 2013, Kelloggs' Power Rankings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kelloggs’ Anime Power Rankings: Fall 2013 Week 1

  1. leeto says:

    I was convinced KnK was going to be my go-to this season but I hadn’t heard about White Album 2, and you’ve certainly got me intrigued. To the queue I go!

  2. Liz says:

    KnK is generic but gorgeous. I’ll watch it and be bored but fap anyway.

Leave a Reply

